You gotta wake up slow

May 12, 2008 at 6:44 pm 5 comments

I spent a lovely weekend with my family up in Fernandina Beach to celebrate Mother’s Day and my birthday. Then Alex and I spent today — my actual birthday — at the beach. We haven’t had a day off together in a long time, and it was great to spend my whole birthday with him.

Before we left for the beach, he surprised me with a huge stack of chocolate chip and banana wheat pancakes. The weather was beautiful all day, so we enjoyed our breakfast outside in the courtyard. I couldn’t have asked for a better birthday.

pancakes

I should find out early this week if I’m going to have a booth in an upcoming craft show. I’ve started working on some items for the show to get a head start. I figure that if I don’t end up participating, I can sell the items in The Boutique.

Petah tote (antelope)

My first item is an antelope tote bag made of thin-wale ivory corduroy.

antelope

The antelope is appliqued with double-side fusible web and outlined with a simple stitch.

lining

The bag is lined in an Amy Butler fabric. My Amy stash is dwindling too quickly!

This long weekend has been wonderful, but tomorrow, it’s back to the daily grind. 

Entry filed under: Things and stuff.

Happy Mother’s Day Tiny Grandma

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah Shaw  |  May 13, 2008 at 9:31 am

    That bag is gorgeous! Your applique is perfect! Happy Birthday, I am so glad you had a wonderful day. Congratulations on getting a booth, is this your first show? You will have to let me know how it goes for you, i am still teetering on if I want to do a show or not.

    Reply
  • 2. Erika  |  May 13, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Happy (belated) Birthday!
    Sorry I haven’t been around much lately. I haven’t been making my usual blog arounds in a while due to working on a website for my stepfather’s law firm. I miss reading my blogs! :o(
    That antelope bag is too cool! If Good luck, I hope you get the booth. :o)

    Reply
  • 3. kalki  |  May 13, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Happy (belated) birthday!!

    Reply
  • 4. Betty  |  May 14, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Happy Belated Birthday!!!! Those pancakes look so yummy! So glad to hear you had a nice wonderful day. I love the purse on a simple white cord background like that too.

    Reply
  • 5. Jenaveve  |  May 14, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Happy Birthday – I think it was, looking at the scrumptious pile of pancakes! Pretty please could we have the recipe?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

