Lucky number

May 29, 2008 at 1:41 pm 6 comments

I finished another number tote for Sunday’s craft show.

number tote

The numbers don’t mean anything. I chose them based solely on aesthetics. I like how the curve of the 2 looks next to the sharper angles of the 7. That’s it. No hidden meaning. I know Kurt Cobain, Janis Joplin and Jimi Hendrix died when they were 27 years old, but it has nothing to do with that. I promise.

number tote closeup

If I were going to choose a number based on meaning, I would have chosen 12. It’s my birthday (May 12), Alex’s birth month (December) and my favorite/lucky number.

lining

So tell me….what’s your favorite or lucky number and why? (If it’s aesthetically pleasing, I might even put it on a tote!)

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Things and stuff.

Countdown to craft show: Part III Betty rocks!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison Fouse  |  May 29, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    27 is my lucky number. Hmmm….

    Reply
  • 2. Kathi D  |  May 29, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I don’t think I have a lucky number, but I have many Chinese neighbors and they are all about lucky numbers. I know that 4 is NOT lucky and I believe 8 is lucky. But I don’t remember why. I do know that when a Chinese family bought my in-laws’ house, they managed to change the address from 6744 to something else.

    Reply
  • 3. Jess  |  May 29, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    18 is my fave number! It is also my birthday!

    Reply
  • 4. Liz  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I am partial to Douglas Adams’ answer to Life, the Universe, and Everything – which is 42. If you have not read DA’s books it doesn’t make sense. Come to think of it, it doesn’t make sense if you HAVE read the books! I have a friend who claims that the answer to any question worth answering is always 12. So there is another reason for you to like it.

    I love the totes no matter what number they have on them.

    Reply
  • 5. Jacquie  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    My son loves the number 11. It’s in his email and the in the name of his business. I think it was Ken Griffey Jr.s number. Griffey was my sons idol and fav baseball player as a kid. It was also his chosen number on his baseball and soccer jerseys. So 11 it is!

    Reply
  • 6. kalki  |  May 29, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I was born on the 23rd, so I’m partial to that one. Of course, then Michael Jordan had to go and take that number and suddenly everyone’s favorite number was 23…

    I’m so glad you get the “aesthetically pleasing” number thing! When we were getting married, I tried to explain this to Rob but he didn’t get it. There were certain Saturdays I wouldn’t consider for a wedding because I thought the date was ugly. (See how the controlling continues?) 🙂 And he was like, “Huh? How can a number be ugly?” Oh, but it can. And likewise, a number can be quite lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

