Craft show virgin no more (a.k.a. “The aftermath”)

June 2, 2008 at 7:11 pm 6 comments

So, I’ve got good news and bad news.

The bad news
Although the craft show was a lot of fun and a great learning experience, I only sold two items. I was at one of the indoor booths, and people simply didn’t come inside. My understanding is that the outdoor vendors had a much better crowd. For their sake, I hope so!

craft booth

The poor girl in the booth across from mine didn’t sell anything! I was very surprised, because her stuff was super adorable, and she even had some low-priced items. I thought for sure someone would nab one of her little zipper pouches or pin cushions. But alas, they did not. I even checked out her Etsy shop after I got home, and she’s sold almost 500 (!!!) items through Etsy. So obviously, her stuff is great. The indoor portion of the craft show just wasn’t the place to be on Sunday, unfortunately.

craft booth

But fear not, for I am not discouraged! Fat Orange Cat will rear its crafty head at future shows! Even though I only sold two items, I still had a great time and the experience alone made it worthwhile. My sister helped me set up my booth and hung out with me the whole day, a bunch of friends stopped by to say hi, and I met some really talented fellow crafters and Etsy-ers. And the folks who put together the whole fair were just awesome. They were helpful, friendly and well-organized. They even handed out popsicles to all the vendors.

Because we all know that a popsicle-laden vendor is a happy vendor.

The good news
Low turnout + lots of leftover items = big Etsy update!!!

I posted the pink ricrac bib….

pink bib

the blue ricrac bib

blue bib

and the camel pillow in The Boutique today.

camel pillow

I’ll be posting a few items a day until everything is up there, so check back often.

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Countdown to craft show: Part IV Boutique update

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathi D  |  June 3, 2008 at 3:13 am

    Well, at least you got your feet wet! Hard to believe people weren’t snapping up all your stuff. But it’s true what they say: Location, location, location!

    Reply
  • 2. Erlene  |  June 3, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Well, I’m in the same boat. I tried a “craft show” a few weeks ago that was in a large mall 60 miles from my home. It was in conjunction with a promotion of the Children’s Museum right next to the ice arena (which is where we were located). They were charging $2 admission which went to the Children’s Museum. I did not sell one item and I was so disappointed but I think that people just did not come to that part of the mall and it was not advertised enough.

    I am working on getting an etsy site set up so, like you, I have inventory ready to go. It is a little scary at first because I don’t really understand the system but I decided I just had to jump in and then change things as I go along! By next week, http://www.polkadotpenguin.etsy will actually have items on it!

    I enjoy your website and check it daily. You have so many great ideas and have helped me so much already with my lack of confidence just relaying your experiences! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. Hannah Shaw  |  June 3, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I’m sorry that you didn’t sell much, I am so proud of your for going through with it. I am always talking about how I want to do a show, but have yet to “walk the walk”. Reading that you had a great experience makes me feel better!!

    Reply
  • 4. Jacquie  |  June 3, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    I think it was great you gave it a try. You have such a good attitude about it. I’m sure next time will be better for you!

    Reply
  • 5. Goosie Girl  |  June 3, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    I’m sad… you worked so hard to get it all ready. If only it had rained.. lol. But good for you for finding the positive. I’ll be sure to stop in your etsy shop and check it out.

    Reply
  • 6. Betty  |  June 3, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    I am so glad that you still found the experience worth while and that you plan to funnel a bunch of things into your etsy store. That is the way to do it!

    I think craft fairs may be like yard sales a little hit and miss.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

