Anniversaries and Alaskan cruises

June 5, 2008 at 4:11 pm 5 comments

This weekend, I’m heading to Fernandina Beach to dog-sit for my parents while they go away for their 37th wedding anniversary. Thirty-seven years! What an accomplishment! They still hold hands in public, and my sister and I still nudge each other and giggle when we see it.

So I’ll spend this weekend lying on the beach (oh, torture!), walking the dogs and catching up with a good friend who I haven’t seen since moving away from Fernandina over a year ago. I’m really looking forward to a relaxing few days with NO sewing. Because honestly, I’m all sewed out and ready for a break.

whale tote

As soon as the craft show was over, I got started on this whale tote for a special order. My boss wanted to give it as a gift to her mother who was leaving for an Alaskan cruise today to celebrate her recent retirement.

whale tail

My boss had seen my whale pillow and asked if — in honor of the Alaskan cruise — I could make a whale tote bag to match the gorgeous silvery-gray scarf she had already knitted for her mother.

whale tote

I brought the scarf to the fabric store with me so I could match the fabric to it as closely as possible. I ended up finding this subtle, vintage-inspired pale gray fabric. It’s so soft and pale and lovely. I bought a whole yard and have only used it for this one tiny little whale, so I’m sure it will pop up in future projects.

I lined the bag in one of my favorite polka-dot fabrics that I’m going to need to replenish very soon! I swear, this stuff goes with everything.

whale liner

I hope she gets a lot of use out of this bag and her beautiful new scarf on her cruise!

And HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, Mom and Dad! I love you!

**Don’t forget to enter my giveaway!**

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Sewing, Things and stuff.

Scrappy Weekend away

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandra :)  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Happy anniversary Fat Orange Cat Momma and Fat Orange Cat Dad — 37 years is indeed an achievement!

    Don’t forget the suntan lotion for the beach, and have a great time with your friend 🙂

    Great tote!!

    Reply
  • 2. Mom  |  June 5, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Thanks for the anniversary wishes! And thanks for holding down the fort while we’re gone. By the way, love the tote and love the fabric, inside and out! xoxo

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel  |  June 5, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I like this tote! Especially the lining fabric!

    Reply
  • 4. Jacquie  |  June 5, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Congrats to your parents. Enjoy the beach.

    Reply
  • 5. Betty  |  June 11, 2008 at 12:44 pm

    I seriously don’t blame you for being all sewed out. You were an animal for a bit there.

    Happy Anniversary Parents!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

