Squirrels

June 17, 2008 at 10:29 pm 7 comments

While walking to work this afternoon, Alex noticed three tiny baby squirrels — just a few days old — that had most likely fallen out of their nest onto the ground. He moved them off the sidewalk and onto the grass to keep them safe, and kept walking to work, assuming (and hoping) that the mom would find them and get them back into their nest.

When he walked home about five hours later, he saw that they were still there. One of them had died, but the other two were alive and appeared to be injured from the fall. I was walking to meet him, so we walked home together with him holding the two babies on a plastic bag in his palm. They were so tiny and hairless, and their little eyes weren’t even open yet.

I tried calling an animal rescue shelter and the Lowry Park Zoo on my cell phone as we walked home, but both organizations were closed. When we got home, we put a pillow case in a small box and placed them in there, and then started calling every animal rehabilitation place we could find online.

squirrels

After leaving messages at four places, we finally got in touch with a guy who wasn’t in our area but gave us another phone number for a lady who was. We called her, and she was about 30 minutes away but said she could leave immediately to meet us at a halfway point. So we hopped in the car with the babies nestled in their box. As long as they were twitching and squirming, I knew they were alive.

When we met Lisa, she took both babies in one hand and said that one of them seemed to be doing poorly. Mother squirrels feed their newborns every two hours or so, and these little guys hadn’t eaten in at least six. Luckily, she had all the necessary supplies in her truck so that she could start rehabilitating them immediately.

And that’s how we left them — in the capable hands of a kind woman who saves these sorts of animals every day.

I’ve been with Alex for almost two years, and he still manages to surprise me regularly. I know he loves animals, but I’m overwhelmed that he would spend his evening saving two baby squirrels, including walking a mile with them held gently in his palm.

I have no idea how to transition smoothly into this, so…um….I posted two sets of coasters in The Boutique!

coasters

Four 4″x4″ Red Apple coasters, for sale here.

leafy coaster

And a set of Leafy Coasters, for sale here.

Maybe I should have come up with an analogy about how a squirrel’s life is as fragile as a leaf in autumn or something to make for a slightly smoother transition. But I’m just not feeling that clever tonight.

Send good vibes to the baby squirrels!!

Entry filed under: Things and stuff.

how much fat in oranges Camels and squirrels

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison Fouse  |  June 18, 2008 at 2:41 am

    Oh what a great story, and that transition left me literally, laughing out loud… a wholehearted laugh no less. =)

    My hubby found a baby white throated swift last year, and I remember making all those phone calls and jumping through hoops just so I could get to the right person. I am so glad that I did. Give yourself a pat on the back!

    Reply
  • 2. Betty  |  June 18, 2008 at 8:06 am

    I am glad to hear that you were able to find someone to help. So nice of the two of you!

    Reply
  • 3. chellie  |  June 18, 2008 at 8:48 am

    How do you email your articles? Is that a function you can add? Otherwise I’m cutting and pasting this to Ole. They get rescued wild critters a lot, but I’m sure you didn’t want to drive to Carrollwood.

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  June 18, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Oh, best wishes to the squirrels! I’m glad you helped them! : )

    Reply
  • 5. Carla  |  June 20, 2008 at 1:05 am

    What a sweet story. I hope the little squirrels do OK, but I’m so touched by the human kindness you two showed. Sending good vibes to the squirrel babies.

    Reply
  • 6. Jenaveve  |  June 20, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Oh, I nearly cried (and I’m at work!!). I’m sending squirrel vibes. No transition necessary, it was great to read the story!

    Reply
  • 7. Helena  |  June 26, 2008 at 4:12 am

    Oooohh! I do hope they are ok, poor wee things, all naked!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

