Rainy days

June 26, 2008 at 7:40 pm 4 comments

This time of year, it’s not unusual for it to rain every afternoon here in Florida.

View out our front door

I don’t mind the rain as long as I’m not driving in it. I think it’s kind of cozy to be stuck inside with nothing to do while it pours out there.

I’ve finally gotten my creative sewing juices flowing again after a much-needed three-week break. I finished one of two items for a special order for Jox over at The Knitted Blog.

squirrel pillow

I swear, the fact that it’s a squirrel is a total coincidence — Jox ordered this long before my squirrel escapade. The pillowcase is for a little girl who has a naughty imaginary squirrel friend. I love that!

squirrel pillow

Unfortunately, because of the dreary weather, these photos aren’t ideal. But who knows when the sun will come out again!

I tried something a little different on the back of this pillowcase, and I’m excited about how it turned out.

squirrel pillow binding

I included a strip of ricrac along the edge of the binding. Just for fun.

 squirrel pillow binding

 I hope the recipient and her naughty imaginary squirrel friend love it!

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Sewing.

Our next project Sun and Luna

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandra :)  |  June 26, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    You’re squirrely!!! LOLOL j/k — cute little critter, and nice rick rack trim!

    Reply
  • 2. Jox  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:19 am

    Love, love, love it.
    Ava-Mae is going to be so chuffed!

    Reply
  • 3. Emily Hilleke  |  June 27, 2008 at 11:25 am

    I love each. and. every. one. of your animal silhouette designs.

    Reply
  • 4. alex  |  June 29, 2008 at 12:44 am

    I love that first picture in this blog post. The small pond outside with the red wheel barrow to the right is perfect. And the pink polka-dot squirrel pillow? Fuhgedabout it. Ridiculously hip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

