Taj Mahal

July 8, 2008 at 12:45 pm 3 comments

I went on a wonderful no-boys-allowed camping trip over the long weekend. We went to Paynes Prairie in Gainesville, Fla., and although we didn’t know what to expect because none of us had been there before, it ended up being absolutely beautiful. We camped in a shaded woodsy area and hiked the prairie during the day.

Unfortunately, “prairie” means “no trees,” and hiking in Florida in July with no shade is pretty much torture. But we got to see wild horses grazing peacefully in the prairie, so it was worth the heat. We all had a great time hiking, roasting marshmallows, drinking beer in the hammock, playing Scrabble and just relaxing, but there was a consensus that next time we camp, it should be a little cooler. And we might even allow boys.

Here’s the tent that belonged to the folks in the site next to ours.

Yes, that’s an air conditioning unit with an extension cord. Wow, talk about roughing it. We called their tent the Taj Mahal.

I started physical therapy this week for my chronic back pain. I’ll have three sessions a week for four weeks. I already feel improvement after the first session, so I’m extremely hopeful that this will work. Sewing is one of the things that causes me the most physical pain, and I just can’t imagine giving that up, so…fingers crossed!

I hope everyone here in the USA had a lovely 4th of July!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Look where I went, Things and stuff.

Pink and black How does she do it?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jacquie  |  July 8, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    That is wrong in so many ways. Why not stay at home? Did they have a TV in there too, maybe a martini bar?

    Reply
  • 2. Jacquie  |  July 8, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    How rude of me…I was just so taken aback by the air conditioned tent. Hope the therapy works for you and you’re feeling peachy soon!

    Reply
  • 3. Betty  |  July 9, 2008 at 9:34 am

    That is out of control! They hooked up an ac to their tent? crazy.

    Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend though. How fun a girls only trip.

    My fingers are crossed for you and your back. PT should help some hopefully

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

