King me

August 10, 2008 at 2:14 pm 8 comments

I’ve had this idea in my head of creating a subtle patchwork pattern with corduroy, so I decided to give it a shot, and I ended up with the Checkerboard Tote, a bag that is a bit of a departure for me.

The checkerboard pattern on the front came together nicely, but it took me several tries to get the sides and base together cleanly.

After ripping a few seams, I figured out that everything needed to be sewn together in a specific order. It’s a little more complicated than the other gusseted bags I’ve made. But I’ve got it now.

For sale here!

I had another panicked “where’s Nola?” moment yesterday.

Alex let the cats out in the courtyard the other day, and ever since then, they’ve both been rather brave, darting out between our legs any time we open the door. We live in a small apartment, and there are only a handful of places the cats could be. So when one is “missing” — especially with their new-found courage — it concerns me.

I finally noticed her little nose sticking out of a canvas grocery tote.

Sneaky little girl.

Entry filed under: Handmade goodies, Kitties, Sewing, The Boutique.

Sploosh Graffiti

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kathi D  |  August 10, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    That is a great bag!

    Love the hiding cat, too. We once had a fire in the house (BIG fire) and afterward couldn’t find the cat. Finally found her in a little kitchen drawer that was open just a crack. I don’t know how she managed to get in there, but she was scared and took cover. She picked a good spot, because she was fine.

    Reply
  • 2. Sandra :)  |  August 11, 2008 at 10:20 am

    LOVE the tote, and awwwwwwwwwwwww @ Nola hiding in the bag – green is a good color for her! 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Evie  |  August 11, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Love it! Also, Cute photo of Nola!

    Reply
  • 4. Rachel  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    I really like the way you used the corduroy! I never would have thought to make a patchwork by alternating the direction!

    Reply
  • 5. jacquie  |  August 12, 2008 at 9:54 am

    love the texture…this is great for fall.

    Reply
  • 6. Penny  |  August 17, 2008 at 8:29 am

    I love your cord bag!! It looks like from all the seamripping you did that it was well worth the end result! Your cat is too cute hiding out there!

    Reply
  • 7. julia  |  September 11, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Wow! Cool bag. Would never have thought corouroy could be so interesting!!

    Reply
  • 8. Kelly  |  September 26, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Oh, so cute! She looks just like my two cats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

