Something resembling victory is ours!

September 16, 2008 at 7:48 pm 1 comment

Today, Alex and I went grocery shopping, and for the first time ever, we paid attention to the prices of everything we bought and chose the generic store brand whenever possible. We’ve started getting really annoyed recently at how much we were spending every week on groceries. There’s only two of us!

Paying attention worked. We were astonished at how much money we ended up saving at check-out. Thirty cents here, 18 cents there. It really adds up. We felt like we had gotten one over on The Man when we walked out of there. You know. We take victory where we can find it.

I’ve been doing a lot of sewing, but as I mentioned in my last post, the weather has not been cooperating for photographs. It was actually beautiful this past weekend, but our lazy butts were floating in some 72-degree springs with our good friends near Orlando. So no Fat Orange Cat photos!

However, I managed today to finally get some decent shots of my new ricrac tote (for sale here).

I lined the bag in a gorgeous, bold IKEA fabric that I’ve been dying to use. I bought it months ago and finally got to slice into it for this bag.

One step closer to the craft show. It’ll be here before I know it.

Yikes.

Entry filed under: Craft shows, Fabric, Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Sewing, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Cranberry and pomegranate Antelopes and aprons

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Betty  |  September 17, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Cute bag! I love your shirt too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

