Autumn?

September 22, 2008 at 4:47 pm 1 comment

Is it really autumn? Judging by the wave of heat and humidity that hit me as soon as I stepped outside this morning, I’d say there’s no way it’s autumn. But then, of course, I live in Tampa, and our “autumn” consists of three cool days in mid-January when the rest of America is waking up to snow on the ground and ice on their windshields.

I love living in Tampa, but knowing that all my friends back home are enjoying the beginnings of a lovely northern autumn makes me nostalgic for the colors of falling leaves, the smell of wood burning in fireplaces, pulling out our sweaters and scarves for the first time that year.

Sigh. I miss it. A lot.

I’ve been doing TONS of sewing lately, including this lovely antelope market tote that you see here.

I’d like to be able to photograph and blog about everything I make, but as the show gets closer (83 days!!!) and I become Miss Speedy McSeamstress, I’m starting to think that’s not going to be possible. I simply don’t have the time, especially now that it’s starting to get darker a little earlier. That leaves less time for photographs.

I’ve also decided to stop posting everything I make for the show to The Boutique. It seemed like a really good idea at first. Then I started panicking every time I made a sale. And I was already panicking that I wouldn’t be able to make enough stuff for the show, so a sale meant that I now had to make up for that sold item. On top of that, I have three or four custom orders for friends that I need to work on before Christmas.

Yikes. No pressure. Breathe.

Don’t get me wrong — I am THRILLED each time I get a sale!!! It’s one of the best feelings in the world. But there’s always a slight twinge of “Oh my god, I’m not going to have enough items to sell at the show and I’m only one person and there are only so many hours in the day and I can only sew so quickly!”  

I’ll probably post a few items to The Boutique here and there to keep the shop fresh. But otherwise, I’m concentrating on Atomic Holiday Bazaar.

Entry filed under: Craft shows, Handmade goodies, Sewing, The Boutique, Things and stuff.

Antelopes and aprons Cardboard boxes and knuckle-busters

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  September 23, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    WOW! How exciting! I am so excited for you. How wonderful, I wish you the best of luck. Just remember… breathe. I totally know what you are going through… I just went through it. If you are feeling overwhelmed and need to vent.. I am here. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

