Cardboard boxes and knuckle-busters

September 24, 2008 at 4:43 pm 7 comments

I took a big-girl step.

After tons of great advice from my EtsyFest group, I bought a credit card imprinter.

It’s just one of those cheap knuckle-busters, but still. It’s a pretty huge step for me. I’m going to take credit cards at my next show, and it makes me feel all fancy and professional. Like this whole Fat Orange Cat thing is…legitimate.

I put the box that it came in on the floor, and Nola promptly climbed on it and has been sleeping there ever since. We have a couch, a chaise lounge, quilts, pillows, a soft bed, and even piles of fabric, and she chooses a small cardboard box with pointy corners to lie on.

See how her paw is hanging off the edge? That’s because she doesn’t fit. Fat ass.

I’ve taken a short break from sewing to work on some paper goods. Specifically, sets of note cards. I need some items to sell for under $10 at the craft show, so I bought blank cards and colored envelopes rather than cutting and assembling my own like I normally do, and I’m just doing the applique design on the front of the card.

The less labor that goes into the project, the more comfortable I feel charging less money. And I definitely need some different price points, so this works well.

Mini-sploosh!

And a few sets of apple cards. I love the polka-dots.

Entry filed under: Craft shows, Handmade goodies, Kitties, Paper goods, Things and stuff.

Autumn? Superstar!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  September 24, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    My cats would rather sleep on cardboard boxes or in trash cans or wedge themselves onto the top of the printer (where they really don’t fit) rather than anywhere else. Cute cards!

    Reply
  • 2. Stefanie  |  September 24, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Your appliques look so good on stationary too!

    Reply
  • 3. Betty  |  September 24, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Oh man- credit card machine- girl you are hitting the big time! I’m so happy for you!

    Reply
  • 4. melanie  |  September 24, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    I love the top card. so delicate and mod. grats on a credit card machine. I must read up on this stuff for when I officially do the markets. I hadnt even thought of it.

    Reply
  • 5. maria  |  September 25, 2008 at 3:53 am

    Woohoo, that is a big girl step to take.
    I love the cards, I’m sure they will sell well
    Maria x

    Reply
  • 6. wayfinding  |  September 25, 2008 at 6:08 am

    My cats alwats preferred carbard boxes. Don’t take it too personally i’m sure your house is just find. Absolutely love your cards. Gorgeous colours too.

    Reply
  • 7. jacquie  |  September 28, 2008 at 11:15 am

    that is a big step. i’ve got a show coming up and i’m a bit nervous that i don’t take credit cards. your cards are gorgeous. i know i would snap them up in a minute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

