200

October 15, 2008 at 8:04 pm 5 comments

This is my 200th post! Holy crap! It certainly snuck up on me.

And as you can see, the kitties are just as blown away as I am.

I worked on one of several custom orders this evening. My friend wanted a Christmas bib for her friend’s daughter that wasn’t too Christmassy, so I stayed away from Christmas tree appliques and other traditional Christmas icons.

Instead, I tried to achieve a more subtle festive look by combining glittery gold with deep shades of red. And the bird image reminds me of a partridge in a peartree.

The gold ricrac makes me weak in the knees. I’m serious. I want to make an entire outfit out of it.

I added another touch of shimmer with a row of visible gold stitches on either side of each seam.

I hope she loves it!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Sewing, Things and stuff.

Sixty-one days OF COURSE!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  October 15, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    I like it. I think it turned out really well, and not overly Christmas-y, but still festive. Mission accomplished!

    Reply
  • 2. JenBrenneman  |  October 15, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Perfect!

    Reply
  • 3. Hannah  |  October 15, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    I love the shimmer. I am totally envious…. I miss having kitties, in the house we are in we can’t have them. I am living vicariously through you 😉

    Reply
  • 4. jacquie  |  October 18, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    cute bib, adorable kitty. congrats on 200!!

    Reply
  • 5. Rachel  |  October 18, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    Congratulations on 200 posts!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org