AHB: the aftermath

December 15, 2008 at 7:21 pm 6 comments

Atomic Holiday Bazaar. Was. Awesome.

I’ve never seen anything like it. There was a line stretched around the side of the building waiting for the doors to open at noon.

There was a steady flow of people through my booth all day, and I made a bunch of sales.

I had some of the most interesting conversations with people, including my neighboring vendor from Detroit who poured me a mimosa in the afternoon, a textile designer who discussed fabrics with me, an 8-year-old girl who played with my aprons like they were toys, and a woman who said my aprons would be “perfect” if only they had pockets. I know! I’m working on it!

The other vendors were fabulous! My mom manned my booth for a few minutes toward the end of the day so that Alex and I could walk around, and I was super impressed by the talent in that room. And honored to be among them.

By the end of the day, I was thirsty and hungry and exhausted and my feet hurt and I was simply thrilled to have been a part of it all. I had the best time.

I’m going to try to post one to two items to The Boutique each day that didn’t sell at the show. Today, I posted this:

and this:

Entry filed under: Craft shows, Family/friends, Look where I went, The Boutique.

Three Perfect

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  December 15, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Oh my goodness! That looks like it was a lot of fun. Isn’t it funny how people will always point out what something is missing before they comment on something an item has? Makes me do a mental eye roll hahah. So glad you had a great time!

    Reply
  • 2. Brigitte  |  December 16, 2008 at 11:25 am

    I can see the corner of my table!! ❤

    Reply
  • 3. Billie  |  December 16, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    It was so nice to meet you, Karyn! I had a lot of fun also and was so exhausted the day after! I hope you’ll be there next year. Your creations are so darn cute! You’re very talented! Don’t be scared of pockets… you can do it! Now, zippers…they scare me also. Keep in touch!

    Reply
  • 4. William  |  December 16, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Kalki sent me aver and I have to say that you would probaly get along with my wife. She sews and does the craft shows as well.

    her site. http://www.gigglepotamus.com

    Reply
  • 5. Mothering Two  |  January 21, 2009 at 12:19 am

    Hi! We met at this craft show and I’m just now getting a chance to look you up. I see my moose purse hanging in that picture! Was it meant to be a reversible purse? Because I reversed it after the holidays and love the other fabric, too. 🙂 Anyhoo… your kitties are cute. Now I’m off to check your shop. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Jessica  |  February 15, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    I am SO amazed at how much you were able to finish and bring to the Atomic Bazaar! I would have loved to do a show before Christmas, but I worked every Saturday from Thanksgiving to Christmas. Overall, starting in October is just a busy time at work. I think you just got me motivated to start working now on setting aside a few things so I can have enough for a show finally. Really…I’m off to go start working now…LOL. I did not go to Savannah for Jessica’s wedding. I’ve got a few people that I have been putting a bug in their ear that we need to plan a trip so I’ll let you know if it comes to fruition. Congrats on your own upcoming wedding!!! You’ll have to blog about all the creative things you put together for it. You said you were tired of crafting for awhile since the bazaar, but maybe the wedding stuff will put you back in the mood. Let’s stay in touch!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

