March

March 2, 2009 at 6:04 pm 4 comments

March has become a very special month in my little world. It’s the month that I get to marry the man of my dreams. Our wedding is March 28, and these last few weeks are crawling by at a sloth’s pace. I just want it to GET HERE.

We’re having a very small, simple wedding, so I haven’t been freaking out the way that some brides do a month before their wedding. Luckily, we’ve been able to support handmade while planning our wedding, which we thought was very important. We met our photographer, Megan Katauskas, at a craft show I did late last year. Her photographs are natural, unique and beautiful, and I consider it fate that we were at the same show together. I never would have found her otherwise. 

I purchased two stunningly realistic silk flowers for my hair on Etsy from Butterfly Enchantress Designs. These flowers look so real that Alex called me at work in a panic the day we got them because he was certain they would die before our wedding.

We worked with another talented artist on our wedding invitations. Jonathan from Ello Invitations created an original design just for us. We love the invitations so much that we’re going to frame one for our apartment.

These photographs don’t do the invitations justice, FYI. The colors are much richer in person.

I decided to try to make a pillow based on this design. It’s getting there, but I feel like something is a little off (other than the fact that they don’t have legs yet). I think they’re too big for the space.

So it’s not quite there yet, but nothing has been ironed on yet, so I can still play with the layout.

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Look what I found, Paper goods, Things and stuff, wedding stuff.

Neglect Separation

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kangaroo  |  March 2, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    SO sweet, I love the invitation and the matching pillow idea! Congratulations, spring is such a beautiful time to be married, with the promise of all things fresh and new. Love to both of you.

    Reply
  • 2. Jodz  |  March 3, 2009 at 4:49 am

    Oh, how exciting, a wedding 🙂 I had a small (tiny) wedding with only 25 guests. I had such fun and got to spend time with each person. Such fun!

    Reply
  • 3. Pam  |  March 4, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Congratulations! I pray you have many wonderful years together. The invitations are so adorable and I can’t wait to see the finished pillow.

    Reply
  • 4. doobart5679  |  March 4, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    So cool! Which silk flowers did you buy from ButterflyEnchantress? Do you have pictures? I’ve been scouring the internet for pictures of her flowers, so I can make a decision. I’m thinking about buying the Audrey hair flower from her shop for my damask wedding.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

