Pica

June 26, 2009 at 8:24 pm 8 comments

I have no idea if Nola really has pica (a medical disorder characterized by an appetite for substances largely non-nutritive), but I like to say she does, because it explains her constant desire to gnaw on everything — plastic bags, paper, my finger. She’s a chewer, that one.

I recently found out she likes chewing on twigs. Here she is going in for a nice big bite.

She bites off a little piece, chews on it for a minute, and then spits it out. So very….strange.

Have any of you heard of kitty pica? What weird items do your cats chew on?

Entry filed under: Kitties.

Inspiration New market tote

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison  |  June 26, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    I used to have a cat that loved to eat carrots. I found that to be very amusing.

    Reply
  • 2. Jennifer H.  |  June 27, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    My cat has a thing for string. He searches for loose threads on the couch, on clothes, and he will even chew on hair.

    Reply
  • 3. Debbie S.  |  June 28, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    One of our cats has a compulsion to bite the corner of every cardboard box that makes it’s way into our home. He doesn’t chew it up; just a few tooth marks in the corner. Silly. But loveable.

    Reply
  • 4. Kelly  |  June 29, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Anything plastic. Korben can’t help himself. He just likes to chew on them and lick them. He doesn’t actually consume them (for anyone who was worried).

    Reply
  • 5. alex  |  June 29, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    My cat Quinn is a vicious, ferocious eater of roaches and cute little lizards. But he means well.

    Reply
  • 6. Kristen  |  June 29, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Berkeley can’t get enough of licking the plastic of the Aquafina case and the corners of chip bags. He also attacks me for red Twizzlers and Chees-its.

    Reply
  • 7. Eleanor  |  June 30, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    My fat cat Maxie licks coal and walls, eats potato crisps and rubber bands and had to have surgery after she ate a kirby grip.
    Oh and she snuggles and licks when anyone is wearing something made of polyester fleece.
    Oh and (last one) she will carry a spare toilet roll out of the bathroom and bring it downstairs. Full of teeth marks.
    E
    xx

    Reply
  • 8. SandraD  |  November 13, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I have three cats that exhibit strange gastrointestinal tendancies:
    Mouse cat can’t get enough of licking photos. I can’t leave any pictures out where she can get to them because she will literally spend hours licking them.

    Baby cat chews everything! He eats lizards, all manner of insects, cords, boxes, small bits of anything that happen to land on the ground, he will suck your finger, his tail, and the other day he even tried to eat a piece of glass after one was accidently swatted onto the floor by my Pretty Princess. Clearly I try to dissaude him from doing this, but I think it’s mostly out of curiosity and probably because he was unfortunately taken away from his mother at about 3 weeks old and brought to my doorstep.

    Pretty Princess eats strings, and she will hunt them where ever they may go.

    Good luck! Mine sure keep me busy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org

