Honeymoon bag

April 14, 2009 at 6:21 pm 12 comments

Hello everyone! It’s been almost a full month since I last posted, but I have a very, very good reason for my absence.

Alex and I got married! 

We had a small, simple ceremony in the courtyard of an historic bed and breakfast in Fernandina Beach, Florida. We got to celebrate our marriage with the people we’re closest to, and we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day.

(Thank you, Megan, for the beautiful photograph above, and for all the amazing photos you took for us that day!) 

A week after the wedding, we went on our honeymoon — a seven-day eastern Caribbean cruise. It was an indescribable trip. I want to go back. Like, now.

During the week between the wedding and the honeymoon, I actually got some sewing done for myself. While shopping for the trip, I found this bag (that I loved) at Old Navy.

I knew I wanted a bag that crossed my body so that I could wear it comfortably while walking around all the little island towns. The one at Old Navy was only $15, but I decided to make one instead. It’s so rare that I make anything for myself, so it was less about saving money than it was about treating myself to a Fat Orange Cat original.

I was tempted to make it super bright but went with more neutral fabrics so that the bag wouldn’t clash with anything I wore on the honeymoon.

And inside, I included two — that’s right, TWO — pockets, which I lined in polka dots (a little secret treat for myself).

This bag got soaking wet while we kayaked, the pockets got filled with sand while we lay on the beach, it got shoved into my suitcase for the trip home, and it held up very nicely. It’s my honeymoon bag!

Entry filed under: Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Sewing, Things and stuff, wedding stuff.

How to sew a pocket Inspiration

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Congratulations! The photograph is just wonderful with you two. Great bag too. 🙂 jennifer

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  April 15, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Congratulations! What a beautiful photo from your wedding. 🙂 Great job on the bag too!

    Reply
  • 3. Erin K  |  April 15, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Beautiful wedding picture.

    You seriously make the best bags!

    Reply
  • 4. JuliaB  |  April 15, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 5. kalki  |  April 16, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Woohooo!!!! Congratulations! That photo of the two of you is so elegant, so freaking gorgeous. I love the flowers in your hair.

    Also, I love that you put polka dots in the pockets as a secret treat for yourself.

    And also, I’ve been crafting! Can you believe? Come see! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Billie/ Zu-Li Designs  |  April 19, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Congratulations!! By the way, I like YOUR bag way better than the Old Navy one!!!

    Reply
  • 7. maria  |  April 20, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Congratulatons from me too. I also prefer your lovely bag. Any more pictures to show?

    Reply
  • 8. Betty  |  April 21, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    congrats!! The photo looks amazing- what a splendid day!

    Reply
  • 9. urban craft  |  April 29, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    sweet bag, love the green fabric. Wonderful wedding shot too!

    Reply
  • 10. megan lee katauskas  |  May 4, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Thanks Karen, Matthew and I had such a great time photographing the evening!

    For anyone that would like to view more I have a few in an album here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/meganleewelch/sets/72157615995471883/

    🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Bell  |  May 9, 2009 at 6:42 am

    Congratulations! You look absolutely stunning – love the photos. Your honeymoon bag turned out great too.

    Reply
  • 12. Betty  |  May 11, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Hi Karyn: Thanks for entering the giveaway! I know it has been a while. I wasn’t able to keep my bloggy ways once I started grad school. I am still taking 5 classes this summer, but since I don’t have any clinical work at the same time— I feel like I am on summer vacation!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org