Apron or art

October 26, 2007 at 1:04 pm 2 comments

Last Christmas, I made aprons for two of my best friends. M wears hers all the time, but the one I made for C hangs from a hook in her kitchen.

I was very particular about picking fabrics for her apron. Her kitchen is decorated in black and red, and she and her husband adorn their Christmas tree each year with red heart ornaments.

I made the apron out of cotton fabric, and it’s durable and machine-washable, so I was really hoping she would use it. But she says she’s afraid that she’ll get it dirty or ruin it.

I would love if she decided to use it, but to be honest, I’m rather honored that she’s chosen to display it like a piece of art instead. It’s interesting how differently people treat handmade items.

She also has a fragile, worn, very old quilt that her grandmother made. It’s so thin and delicate that it seems like it could crumble, but it’s actually held up quite well over the years.

Say hi to Arnie! (Was I supposed to let the dog on the delicate antique quilt? Could you say no to that face?)

Entry filed under: Fabric, Family/friends, Handmade goodies, Vintage/antiques.

She’s no Nancy Another day sneaks away

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Krista  |  October 26, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    I tagged you, take a look at my blog to see more! http://www.justartjournalit.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 2. Ellie  |  October 27, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Hi Arnie. Woof woof.

    Are you going to be selling aprons in your shop? I really want one!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Visit my Etsy shop

Click here to visit my Etsy shop. The Boutique

Welcome

Fat Orange Cat is a site about finding the beauty in all things homemade, appreciating the secret story of dusty vintage pieces, and realizing there is nothing cozier than curling up under an old quilt with a glass of wine. ::: If you feel inspired, please leave a comment - I'd love to hear from you! ::: Email me at karynjeanne12(at)gmail(dot)com.

Upcoming craft shows

Copyright information

All material on this site is sole property of Fat Orange Cat. Feel free to link to my site, but please give proper acknowledgment.

Categories

Support handmade!

I Took The Handmade Pledge! BuyHandmade.org